Multiple states have decriminalized marijuana in recent years, while some states have even legalized marijuana for adult use. But, under Federal Law, marijuana remains a schedule I controlled substance.
While some laws for the possession of cannabis in small amounts have been decriminalized, the substance itself remains illegal in the state of North Carolina.
If you are caught in possession of less than half an ounce of marijuana, it is considered a misdemeanor which is punishable by 30 days in jail and a $200 fine. While possession of .05 to 1.5 ounces of marijuana is also a misdemeanor, it is punishable by up to 120 days in jail and a $500 fine. Any individual caught with amounts of marijuana in excess of 1.5 ounces will face stricter punishments.
Possession with intent to sell is still considered a felony in the state of North Carolina. If you are faced with a felony possession, contact an attorney at Merritt Webb who can help you with this matter.