According to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA), 810 people died in auto accidents in 2010 on South Carolina roadways; thousands more were injured.
Under South Carolina law, if you are involved in an auto accident, you must remain on the scene until police arrive to complete a report. If there are serious injuries, call an ambulance. You are required to provide the responding officer with your driver’s license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance. You must cooperate with the officer. You are also required to report the accident to the South Carolina Department of Transportation within 15 days using form FR-10. You should also notify your insurance company as soon as possible after the accident to advise them of the situation so your rights are protected. The South Carolina Bar has an online pamphlet with basic instructions on handling an SC auto accident you may find helpful. If you are injured in the accident, you should speak to an SC auto accident attorney to learn your rights.
Statute of Limitations
In South Carolina, if you do not file your lawsuit against the at-fault driver within 3 years of the date of the SC auto accident, you will be forever barred and will not be able to recover from the at-fault party or their insurance company. If the driver of the other vehicle is an employee of the state government, the time in which you may file a claim is different (usually two years) and the manner in which it must be done is different.
The auto accident lawyers at Merritt Webb are anxious to aggressively represent your interests and ensure you receive just compensation for your injuries and losses. If you need an SC auto accident attorney either call us at 1.800.556.8404 or click here to fill out a short Auto-Truck Accident Submission form.